FSG Academy - Driverless Workshop 2020

On 29th of August and 26th of September 2020, powered by Waymo.

FSG17, 20171021, Saturday, etzold

Please login to view all content on this page.

To participate in this workshop, your Team Captain must book spaces on the FSG Academy page and then select Team Members as participants in your Team Area. If you have any questions in this regard, please contact website.supportf...t.de.

FSG Academy - powered by Waymo

On August 29th and September 26th Waymo and Formula Student Germany are hosting the first ever virtual FSG Driverless Workshop!

The virtual event is for students from North America and around the globe already building driverless vehicles or interested in developing these skills in the coming years. Participants will gain insights on simulation and how to make vehicles completely driverless from one of the world’s leading autonomous technology companies, and learn how to approach a wide array of Formula Student Driverless specific issues from several top Formula Student Driverless teams.

Thank you for attending the virtual FSG Academy powered by Waymo!

Please sign up on the following page to stay in touch with Waymo: https://fsg.one/waymo-fsg.

Pictures, Slides & Videos - Day 1

Please find all pictures, slides and videos from Saturday 29th of August 2020 in our FSG Academy website section after logging in: https://fsg.one/20200829.

Livestream

You are not selected as participant of this workshop. Therefore you are not able to see the Livestream.

Surveys and Questions

You are not selected as participant of this workshop. Therefore you are not able to see the surveys and questions.

Schedule for Saturday 29th of August 2020

Time   Title Speaker
08:00 – 08:15 PDT
17:00 – 17:15 CEST
15' Welcome FSG
08:15 – 09:15 PDT
17:15 – 18:15 CEST
60' Intro to Waymo + Designing the Waymo Driver Waymo
09:15 – 10:15 PDT
18:15 – 19:15 CEST
60' What is the Formula Student Driverless (Electric) competition about: history and conception FSG
10:15 – 11:45 PDT
19:15 – 20:45 CEST
90' HW + SW Sensing: Common considerations for different sensor technologies UAS München
Karlsruhe KIT
11:45 – 12:30 PDT
20:45 – 21:30 CEST
45' ML in Sensing - Benefits and drawbacks FSOCO
12:30 – 13:15 PDT
21:30 – 22:15 CEST
45' Vehicle state estimation TU Dresden
13:15 – 14:00 PDT
22:15 – 23:00 CEST
45' How to: Planning & mapping UAS Augsburg
14:00 – 14:45 PDT
23:00 – 23:45 CEST
45' How to: Controls ETH Zürich
14:45 – 15:30 PDT
23:45 – 00:30 CEST
45' HW actuators - redundancy, fail-safe (EBS, steering) FSG
15:30 – 16:15 PDT
00:30 – 01:15 CEST
45' How to ship reliable code: Bloopers, bugs and errors TU Munich
16:15 – 17:00 PDT
01:15 – 02:00 CEST
45' Specific challenges in the US: Sponsors, the university, team recruitment MIT
17:00 – 17:45 PDT
02:00 – 02:45 CEST
45' Exchange and Cooperation in FSD: Publish knowledge, code, data TU Hamburg
17:45 – 18:45 PDT
02:45 – 03:45 CEST
60' How to build a winning self-driving stack in FSD ETH Zürich

Most contributions on the first day will be streamed from the studio in Hockenheim. The last 10-15min of a slot are used for questions from the live chat. Please note that both days will be recorded. Waymo slides and recordings, if made available after the live-broadcast, will be posted on Waymo's website. All other slides and recordings will be available to all registered users on our website.

Schedule for Saturday 26th of September 2020

Time   Title Speaker
08:00 – 08:15 PDT
17:00 – 17:15 CEST
15' Welcome
FSG
08:15 – 09:00 PDT
17:15 – 18:00 CEST
45' The importance of simulation
Waymo
09:00 – 09:15 PDT
18:00 – 18:15 CEST
15' Simulation in FS Driverless
FSG
09:15 – 11:15 PDT
18:15 – 20:15 CEST
120' Deep dive into some simulations MIT/TU Delft
TU Chalmers
11:15 – 12:15 PDT
20:15 – 21:15 CEST
60' Beyond simulation - What to look out for when porting the simulation-developed autonomous system to a real vehicle
TU Delft
12:15 – 13:45 PDT
21:15 – 22:45 CEST
90' Hands-on intro to developing lidar and vision classifiers MIT HAN Lab
13:45 – 14:45 PDT
22:45 – 23:45 CEST
60' Open Q&A session via Slido with all speakers and event wrap-up all

The contributions on the second day will not be streamed from the studio in Hockenheim, but from the home offices of the respective speakers via a video conference call. Direct participation in the video conference is not possible for participants (anymore). The video conference will be streamed on this page for every participant. Please note that both days will be recorded. Waymo slides and recordings, if made available after the live-broadcast, will be posted on Waymo's website. All other slides and recordings will be available to all registered users on our website.

Academy related Questions?

Please write an email to fsg.academyf...t.de.

Is FS Driverless coming to North America?

Depending on the interest of the teams and the supporting companies in the new Formula Student Driverless competition, this new competition is planned to take place in North America in autumn 2021.